With the project of Recreovía, inspired by the Muévete en Bici project in Mexico City, San Juan became part of the Recreational Cycling Network of the Americas.
It was built in 1635 by the Spanish crown and received the name of San Juan Bautista. It served to control the access to the city. It is the last of the main doors still standing.
Every year there are many festivals full of color in San Juan. Some of them are: Fiesta de los Reyes Magos, the street of San Sebastián, the Heifer Festival, the Ponce Carnival, and the Campechada, among others.
It was inaugurated on February 11, 1929, and it is still the seat of the Legislative Assembly of Puerto Rico. It houses paintings that illustrate Puerto Rico’s history.
The site was discovered in 1493, on Columbus' second voyage. Later, it became the most important military post in America. In the nineteenth century, Puerto Rico became a U.S. territory.
In 2011, the city of San Juan inaugurated the San Juan Muévete Recreovía, which consisted of enabling a section of the San Juan islet for the use of pedestrians and non-motor vehicles to promote the use of bicycles.
Its construction was carried out from 1852 to 1854. It was inaugurated on the Princess of Asturias’ birthday, hence the name. It is an urbanization project surrounded by residences and gardens.